West Africa

2017 GJA Awards: Bernard Avle wins Journalist of the Year – Full List

2017 GJA Awards: Bernard Avle wins Journalist of the Year - Full List
Professor Henrietta Mensa-Bonsu

The 23rd edition of the Ghana Journalists Association (GJA) awards saw 36 journalists out of 548 applications received by the GJA Awards Committee awarded in the various categories.

Apart from the journalists, some media houses were also awarded for showing excellence in their service delivery.

GCGL, Metro TV, GTV, Citi FM, Hello FM, Obonu, GNA, Moonlight FM, Kekeli Radio, Zaa FM, Radio Wa and the West End Radio were the winning media houses.

Bernard Koku Avle, a Broadcast Journalist and Director of News Programming at Citi FM was adjudged the Ghana Journalist of the Year 2017.

He is the host one of the popular radio shows in Ghana, “The Citi Breakfast Show,” on Accra based Citi FM and he has a passion for telling the African story.

The 37-year old was presented with the 2017 PAV Journalist of the Year award at a ceremony organised by the Ghana Journalists Association. This feat means he takes over from Peace FM’s Kwami Sefa Kayi who won the award for the Year 2016.

Bernard Avle who is an ALIWA Fellow, an Edward R Murrow Fellow of Journalism and a Chevening Scholar continues to nurture and unearth African journalist using his ALIWA project under iJourno Africa initiative.

The 2017 Ghana Journalists Awards was held at the Kempinski Hotel in Accra on Saturday, 27th October 2018.

The GJA also conferred honorary awards on some personalities who have contributed immensely to the growth of the media industry in Ghana.

Dr Osei Kwame Despite, Dr Ernest Ofori Sarpong, Dr Samuel Amo Tobbin, Dr Papa Kwesi Nduom, Mr Kwasi Twum and Commissioner of Police (COP) Dr George A. Dampare were all celebrated at the ceremony.

The celebration of the 23rd edition of the GJA awards was on the theme: “State of Investigative journalism: Boundaries of privacy and borders of the public interest.”

Winners at the 2017 GJA Awards

2017 GJA Awards: Bernard Avle wins Journalist of the Year - Full List
Bernard Avle

Journalist of the Year 2017 – Bernard Koku Avle (Citi FM)

Most Promising Journalist of the Year – Alice Aryitey (GhOne TV)

Best Female Journalist – Jamila Akweley Okertchiri (Daily Guide)

Best Cartoonist – Akosua (Daily Guide)

News Reporting (Electronic) – Peter Quao Adator (TV3)

Domestic Tourism (Print) – Charles Andoh (The Mirror)

Features (Print) – Rebecca Quaicoe-Duho (Daily Graphic)

Environment (Electronic) – Portia Gabor (TV3)

News Reporting (Print) – Severious Kale-Dery (Daily Graphic)

Best Sports Reporter (TV) – Saddick Adams (Atinka TV)

Features (Radio) – Seth Kwame Boateng (Joy FM)

Features (TV) – Peggy Ama Donkor (GTV)

Investigative Reporting – Stanley Nii Blewu (TV3)

Maritime – Grace Nana Esi Boateng (Oman FM)

Education – Peter Quao Adator (TV3)

Human Rights (Print) – Samuel Adadi Akapule (Ghanaian Times)

Sports Journalist (Radio) – Dan Kwaku Yeboah (Peace FM)

Best Newspaper – Daily Graphic

Best Radio Station – Peace FM

Human Rights (Child Protection – TV) – Ernest Manu (Joy News)

Human Rights (Child Protection- Radio) – Rebecca Ekpe (GBC Radio)

Best TV station – UTV

Best Layout & Designed Newspaper – Daily Graphic

Agriculture (Print) – Ama Amankwaah Baafi (Graphic Business)

David Andoh

Best Photojournalist – David Andoh (Myjoyonline)

Best Health Report (Radio) – Nana Yaa Konadu (Peace FM)

Best Health Report (Print) – Doreen Hammond (Daily Graphic)

Domestic Tourism (TV) – UTV

Oil and Gas – Moses Dotse Aklorbortu (Daily Graphic)

Best Digital Journalism – GNA

Small and Medium Enterprises – Christian Akorli (GNA)

Business Finance and Economic Reporting – Suleiman Mustapha (Daily Graphic)

2017 GJA Awards: Bernard Avle wins Journalist of the Year - Full List
Citi FM Breakfast Show awarded

Best Morning Show (Radio) – Citi FM Breakfast Show

Best Morning Show (TV) – Good Morning Ghana (Metro TV)

Best Report in Health (TV) – Seth Kwame Boateng (Joy News)

Best Rural (Electronic) – Joojo Cobinnah (Joy News)

Best Rural Reporting (Print) – David Kodjo-Asinesi

Mining (Print) – Gabriel Ahiabor (Daily Graphic)

Mining (Electronic) – Kwasi Anum

Sanitation and Hygiene – Caesar Abagali (GNA)

Best WASH – Justice Adoboe (Xinhua News Agency)

Best Programme (TV – Akan) – Di Asa (Atinka TV)

Best Development Journalism – Timothy Ngnenbe (Daily Graphic)

Best in Disability Reporting (Electronic) – Alice Aryitey (GhOne TV)

Best Development Journalism (Electronic) – Ridwan Karim Dini-Osman (GhOne)

Best HIV AIDS Reporter – Linda Tenya Ayettey (Daily Guide)

Best Transport and Road Safety – Severious Kale-Dery and Seth J. Bokpe (Daily Graphic)

Environment (Print) – Seth J. Bokpe (Daily Graphic)

Agriculture (Electronic) – Joseph Opoku Gakpo (Joy News)

Democracy and Peace Building – UTV

Best Crime and Court Reporting- Joyce Danso (GNA)

Disability (Print) – Emmanuel Adu-Gyamerah (Daily Graphic)

Anti-Galamsey – Kojo Agyemang, Latif Iddrisu, Godwin Arthur, Stephen Kwaku Fosu, Timothy Ngnenbe, Joyce Gyekye

Best Rural Radio Station

Ashanti- Hello FM

Greater Accra – Obonu

Brong Ahafo – Moonlight Radio

Eastern – Agoo FM

Western – West End Radio

Central – Radio Central

Upper West – Radio Wa

Northern – Zaa FM

Volta – Kekeli

With 36 awards for grabs, the Multimedia Group Limited won 10 awards including seven from the Joy Newsroom.

2017 GJA Awards: Bernard Avle wins Journalist of the Year - Full List
Managing Director, MultiTV. Santokh Singh (extreme right)



Related Articles

Back to top button